Defined by Grace – reblog from Trudy Metzger

I reblogged another post from Trudy last week, along a kind of similar vein. Within a day, I posted a quote from Matt Chandler of the Village church about how easy it is to hide from God at church.
As Christians, we often miss out on the fullness of God’s grace by not fully exploring the depths of our sin – the consequences of the choices we make on us, and others, God’s willingness to forgive, and our willingness to cover things up.

Trudy Metzger's Blog

As I thought about what I am thankful for, with yesterday being Thanksgiving Day in Canada, it is grace and God’s love that immediately came to mind.  There are many other things, to be sure, but this year that love and grace are my lifeline.

This thankfulness is inspired by the ongoing awareness that I am terribly human. But, that when I sin, God does not cast me aside. In the past year, there have been numerous times when I struggled to accept grace in personal experience. I saw my sin, my humanity and my failures, and I was overwhelmed by them. Almost consumed.

Definition of GRACE

1
a : unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification
b : a virtue coming from God
c : a state of sanctification enjoyed through divine grace

We say, and hear Christians say, “It doesn’t matter what you…

View original post 783 more words

Tags:

Leave a Reply

